CEG(Curtin Experimental Geochemistry Facility)
Assoc. Prof. Katy Evans
CEG provides facility for experimental petrology, geochemistry and hydrogeochemistry at pressures and temperatures that range from those at the Earth’s surface to those at the base of the Earth’s crust.
DMH(Digital Mineralogy Hub Facility)
Dr. Mark Aylmore
DMH hosts a Tescan Integrated Mineral Analyzer (TIMA) — a fully automated, high throughput, analytical Field Emission Scanning Electron Microscope (FESEM) for analysis of sample composition and morphology.
GHF(GeoHistory Facility)
Assoc. Prof. Noreen Evans
GHF houses state-of-the-art laser ablation inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry (LA-ICPMS) equipment, in addition to a low temperature thermochronology laboratory. In late 2015 a Nu Plasma II multi-collector will be integrated into the facility...
GAP(Geoscience Atom Probe Facility)
Dr. David Saxey
Atom Probe Tomography (APT) is a characterisation technique that combines high spatial resolution with time-of-flight mass spectrometry to provide 3-dimensional chemical information at the atomic scale.
MMF(Microscopy and Microanalysis Facility)
Dr. William Rickard
MMF houses a broad range of advanced microanalysis instrumentation providing high quality chemical, mineralogical and microstructural information, and high resolution images for research and technical publications.
SAXS(Small Angle X-ray Scattering Facility)
Prof. Craig Buckley
The Western Australian SAXS Facility was established in 2002. Small angle x-ray scattering can be used to characterise the size, shape and distribution of objects between 1 and 100 nm.
SHRIMP(Sensitive High Resolution Ion Micro Probe Facility)
Dr. Allen Kennedy
The SHRIMP are large mass spectrometers that allow in situ isotopic and trace element micro-analysis of complexly zoned minerals in grain mounts and thin section plugs...
SMS(SelFrag & Mineral Separation Facility)
Prof. Pete Kinny
High voltage electrodynamic disaggregation of materials in gram- to kilo-scale batches, along with downstream mineral separation processing, to deliver mineral concentrates, separates, mounts for SHRIMP and LA-ICPMS analysis.
TIMS(Thermal Ionization Mass Spectrometry Facility)
Dr. Svetlana Tessalina
TIMS Facility provides highly accurate and precise measurements of the isotopic composition of elements using TIMS TritonTM instrument, including sample preparation in clean contamination-free environment.
TRACE(Trace Research Advanced Clean Environment Facility)
Assoc. Prof. Ross Edwards
TRACE is a unique infrastructure enabling research requiring a high-purity contamination free environment. A vector of excellence at Curtin University, TRACE is operated under the JdLC...
WAAIF(Western Australian Argon Isotope Facility)
Assoc. Prof. Fred Jourdan
WAAIF specializes in applying the 40Ar/39Ar technique to any rocks and minerals that contain K (e.g. hornblende, sanidine, plagioclase and basalts)...
WA-OIG(WA Organic and Isotope Geochemistry Facility)
Prof. Kliti Grice
WA-OIG is an internationally-recognised group contributing to world-class research in the fields of organic and stable isotope geochemistry; palaeogenomics and geomicrobiology. Research focusses on the following areas...
WABC(The West Australian Biogeochemistry Centre)
Dr. Pauline Grierson
WABC is a centralised, stable isotope facility housed at UWA. It brings together researchers in stable isotope science and in its application to environmental and ecological problems in both terrestrial and marine environments.
XSAF(X-ray Surface Analysis Facility)
Dr. Kane O’Donnell
The Western Austarlian XSAF provides access to a state of the art X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy system for studying surface elemental and chemical composition.